4 days of panels and workshops.
8 nights of films and parties.
Festival & Conference > Conference > Award Recipients

Award Recipients

2014 Award Recipients

Outstanding Television Writer: Matthew Weiner

Matthew Weiner serves as creator, Executive Producer, writer and director on the critically acclaimed drama “Mad Men.” Since the series premiere in 2007, “Mad Men” has become one of television’s most honored shows joining an elite group in 2011 when it became only the fourth drama to be awarded four consecutive Emmy® Awards for Outstanding Drama Series. Additional honors for the series include: three Golden Globe® Awards for Best Television Drama Series; a Peabody Award; three Producers Guild Awards; four Writers Guild Awards; two BAFTA Awards; five Television Critics Association Awards, including Program of the Year; and being named six years running to AFI’s Top 10 Outstanding Television Programs.

Weiner has been nominated for a total of 11 Emmy’s for Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series. He won the award for the series pilot, as well as for the Second Season episode, “Meditations in an Emergency,” with Kater Gordon, and for the Third Season episode, “Shut the Door. Have a Seat.” with Erin Levy. Most recently, Weiner won the WGA award for Best Episodic for the Season Five episode, “The Other Woman,” with Semi Chellas.

Weiner has also received Directors Guild nominations for his efforts behind the camera on “Meditations in an Emergency” in Season Two and the Season Three finale, “Shut the Door. Have a Seat.” In 2012, Weiner was awarded the Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award, which is given annually to television professionals who exhibit extraordinary passion, leadership, independence and vision in the process of creating television programming.

In addition to his television credits, Weiner wrote and directed the feature film, “Are You Here,” featuring complex performances from iconic comedic actors Owen Wilson, Zack Galifianakis and Amy Poehler. “Are You Here” is an unexpected story about family, friendship and the people who keep us afloat while facing the compromises of life.

Weiner’s additional credits include serving as an Executive Producer and writer on “The Sopranos,” and writer on various television comedy series including “The Naked Truth,” “Becker,” and “Andy Richter Controls the Universe.”

Born in Los Angeles, Weiner studied Philosophy, Literature, and History at Wesleyan University. He also earned his MFA from the University of Southern California School of Cinema and Television. Weiner currently lives in Los Angeles with his wife, architect Linda Brettler, and their four sons.

Distinguished Screenwriter: Jim Sheridan

Following a distinguished career in the theatre between the 1960s and the 1980s, Jim Sheridan wrote and directed his first critically acclaimed feature My Left Foot in 1989.

He followed this in 1990 with The Field which he also wrote and directed.  In the same year he wrote the screenplay Into The West which was directed in 1992 by Mike Newell.  In 1993 he wrote, produced and

directed In The Name of the Father and in 1995 he wrote and produced Some Mother’s Son, which was directed by Terry George.  In 1997 he wrote, produced and directed The Boxer and in 1999 he produced Agnes Browne, directed by and starring Anjelica Huston.  He was also executive producer of Borstal Boy, On The Edge and Bloody Sunday.   In America, which he produced, directed and wrote was released in 2003.  In 2005 he directed and produced Get Rich or Die Tryin’.   Brothers was released in 2009 and Dream House in 2011.

Jim Sheridan’s films have achieved popular and critical acclaim throughout the world.  His films have garnered sixteen Academy Award nominations and have won two Academy Awards as well as numerous prestigious international awards.  Jim Sheridan lives in Dublin and is married with three children.

Extraordinary Contribution to Film Award – coming soon!

Past Award Recipients

Distinguished Screenwriter Award

  • 2013 Callie Khouri
  • 2012 Eric Roth
  • 2011 Caroline Thompson
  • 2010 David Peoples
  • 2009 Steve Zaillian
  • 2007 John Milius
  • 2006 Shane Black
  • 2005 Harold Ramis
  • 2004 Barry Levinson
  • 2003 Frank Pierson
  • 2002 Richard LaGravenese
  • 2001 Lawrence Kasdan
  • 2000 Paul Mazursky
  • 1999 James L. Brooks
  • 1998 Paul Schrader
  • 1997 Buck Henry
  • 1996 Bill Wittliff
  • 1995 Horton Foote

Outstanding Television Writer Award

  • 2013 Vince Gilligan
  • 2012 Chris Carter
  • 2011 Hart Hanson
  • 2010 David Simon
  • 2009 Mitch Hurwitz
  • 2008 Greg Daniels
  • 2007 Glenn Gordon Caron
  • 2006 David Milch
  • 2005 Mike Judge
  • 2004 Garry Shandling
  • 2003 Tom Fontana
  • 2002 Darren Star
  • 2001 Gary David Goldberg
  • 2000 David Chase

Extraordinary Contribution to Film Award

  • 2013 Jonathan Demme
  • 2012 Frank Darabont
  • 2011 John Lasseter
  • 2010 Robert Rodriguez
  • 2009 Ron Howard
  • 2008 Danny Boyle
  • 2007 Oliver Stone
  • 2006 Sydney Pollack

Extraordinary Contribution to Film Award (Acting)

  • 2013 Susan Sarandon
  • 2011 Johnny Depp

Heart of Film Award

  • 2013 Barry Josephson